Thursday

9 Dec

Just now, about ten minutes ago or perhaps fifteen, in a series of events which I cannot quite describe, I very nearly choked on a piece of toast. That is, I did choke, and very nearly could not do anything about it.

The mister and the lads had just left for school, and so, I was home alone, dressed in smelly gym clothes*, but not yet with my socks.

Fark, but it was scary, and if my whole life did not exactly flash before my eyes, the thought of not being alive was sharper than I would like it to be for many several years.

*the day your gym clothes are smelly before you even go to the gym is the day you know the laundry cannot be postponed another day

6 Responses to “Thursday”

  1. suse December 9, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Fark indeed.

    I am very glad you are still here. Probably not as glad as you are, but glad nonetheless. (Be careful out there).

  2. elsewhere December 9, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Being a Virgo, frankly I was more worried by the gym clothes thing. Have to admit to sneaking into spin more than once wearing a crop top with that faint biscuity dried sweat smell, thinking, ‘Everyone will be smelly soon.’

  3. Pen December 9, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Damnable crumbs. It’s gruel for you from now on. Or you could pioneer self-administered emergency tracheotomy with a pen (like Father Mulcahy in MASH).

    Glad you didn’t choke.

  4. ampersand duck December 9, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    Ditto.
    Masticate. Masticate.

  5. isabelle December 10, 2010 at 3:42 am #

    Glad you live to write another day.

  6. blue milk December 19, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Yes, welcome back.Yikes. On an entirely different note, sorry can’t think of a better segue, love the new header image. Love it.

Comments are closed.

