It’s immature, but it’s fun

5 Dec

Every now and then, just to mess with the mister’s mind, I iron his shirts.

Never fails.

17 Responses to “It’s immature, but it’s fun”

  1. elsewhere December 5, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Is he a SNAG?

    I’m less disturbed by this than the thing about teeth.

  2. Chally December 5, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    HILARIOUS.

  3. mimbles December 5, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Heh 🙂

    Does he say “Who are you and what have you done with my wife?” That’s what I get.

  4. Pavlov's Cat December 5, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    I tried that once with the Bloke, but he is Army and therefore the only person in the ENTIRE UNIVERSE, including my mother (who taught me how to iron) who has ever said that my ironing wasn’t good enough. He did it again himself.

    Murder has been done for less.

    • ThirdCat December 6, 2010 at 7:44 am #

      erm, yes, to the murder bit. My goodness! Do they have to do their own ironing in the Army or do they just get used to the high standards then bring those standards back to the big wide world?

      Truth be told, I suspect the mister is quite unimpressed with my ironing, but I think if he were going to do it again himself it would be in secret.

      • Pavlov's Cat December 9, 2010 at 9:12 am #

        ‘Do they have to do their own ironing in the Army’

        Absolutely. The Army is a great deal more progressive in some ways than old hippies like moi would ever have believed.

  5. Deborah December 5, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    I wonder if darning his socks would have the same effect?

    • ThirdCat December 6, 2010 at 7:41 am #

      It wouldn’t work here, because I do often sit on the couch fiddling about with thread and yarn and so on, so seeing me engaged in such an activity would not shock him. Seeing me at the ironing board, however…

  6. TimT December 6, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    Irony.

    Good for you for avoiding the cheap pun though.

    • ThirdCat December 6, 2010 at 7:37 am #

      Oh, that’s not cheap…I would’ve used it if I’d thought of it.

  7. TimT December 6, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    You should iron his shirts while he’s still in them. That’ll really mess with his mind.

  8. Mindy December 6, 2010 at 3:03 am #

    I’m too afraid that we would slump back into the bad old days if I did that. I’m sure he already tests me by leaving it in the ironing basket for weeks, just taking out a couple at a time.

  9. mimbles December 6, 2010 at 3:14 am #

    We don’t have an ironing basket any more, it all gets hung up as is and ironed as needed. Or not as the case may be, I’ve decided, for example, that crumpled kids are not a life-threatening problem.

    • ThirdCat December 6, 2010 at 7:40 am #

      We’re the same, put it away, decide to iron (or not) later. The shirts are the only thing that are routinely ironed here, and do you know, now I think about it, I have absolutely no idea about when he usually does it.

  10. ampersand duck December 6, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    Like Pav, being anywhere near an Army dude kills the urge to iron, so I made sure that my man could iron before I married him. Never, ever, get the urge to iron for him, but I can see that offering could be quite freaky for him. Glad it works for you!

  11. isabelle December 7, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    I quite like ironing. Compared to other household tasks, that is. In moderation.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We make our own fun « adelaide from adelaide - February 10, 2011

    […] especially if I’ve done his ironing, the night before, the mister rings me after I’ve paid for my lunch but before I get to the […]

Comments are closed.

