Mornings

1 Dec

I wish I could accept, and act on, the lived-experience knowledge that the second cup of coffee will make the entire morning coffee experience only half, instead of twice, as good as it would have been if I had stopped at one.

I love the euphoria which follows the first and loathe the jitters which follow the second and yet, I find myself unable to stop at one.

I allow myself the second, even as the crema dregs of the first ring the cup of the second, making it look desperate instead of loved. Even as I take my first sip of the second and know that it is too strong, not strong enough, over-milked, under-milked, or I have burnt the coffee grounds, still I drink the second.

As I drink this bitter, wrongly-milked brew, my love for the first and my sorrow for its end grow stronger.

8 Responses to “Mornings”

  1. carolbaby December 1, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Am like this with the second/third coffee, though I very rarely have the third.

    While getting tax done today & Don brought me a (third, professionally-crafted) coffee. Result: wired & scattered, but was superior to first and second and rather wonderful.

    I don’t know what it means either.

  2. Deborah December 1, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    I meet a friend for coffee most Friday mornings. I buy the first one, she buys the second, or vice versa, and we have a lovely long gossip over them. One coffee just isn’t enough.

  3. The Coffee Lady December 2, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    Oh, for god’s sake. Have three.

  4. franzy December 2, 2010 at 4:29 am #

    I’m with Coffee Lady.

    Or you could be like me and just stop at one.
    Served in a soup mug.

  5. Mindy December 3, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    Because I have a dozen other things to do I googled ‘really big coffee mug’ and found this Answers@Yahoo
    This is not suggesting that anyone here is in this situation, just that you are not alone.

  6. Mindy December 3, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    And that link again is Answers@Yahoo

  7. Mindy December 3, 2010 at 2:49 am #

    Cat probably optional

  8. mummycrit December 3, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Or you could not at all? No, probably not.

    I’m like that with the first cup 😉 I’ve been recklessly ordering decaf coffees in unfamiliar cafes recently. Today I’m sure they got my order wrong and made me caf, which makes me sound like I have OCD, but people really don’t get what a difference it makes to me.

Comments are closed.

