update

23 Nov

Last night, I did not take a drink. At 5.18, I almost wavered and then again at 5.42, 6.34, 6.38…you get the picture.

I know that when you are trying to change one behaviour you are supposed to change the other behaviours which in any way ‘support’ that original behaviour. In my case, this is cooking the tea. I do like to have a glass of wine while I cook.

I cook every night. Okay, not every night, but say 5 out of 7 nights, probably 6.

This is going to take some thought. Or else, I just give the whole idea away. I mean, spending a bit of time without alcohol was just an idea. It wasn’t supposed to lead to a radical shake up of my day.

5 Responses to “update”

  1. kazari November 23, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    My mum came against this exact same dilemma (oh, i don’t know, maybe 20 years ago?).
    anyway, she tried to substitute tonic water or soda water for the wine, whilst cooking. this possibly would have worked if us kids hadn’t kept drinking it all.

  2. carolbaby November 23, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    I’d totally give up the notion entirely.

    I keep telling myself that I need to stop drinking wine during the week – but then I inevitably succumb and feel horribly guilty because I cannot stick to things.

    So now I’m all, “screw it, I care not if I am enslaved to the grape”. Because, well, I could be dead tomorrow (lots of “life is short” horrible death-happenings in my little world in the past year) and wine is yummy and there could be many worse things to be enslaved to.

  3. miriam November 23, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    get the kids to cook… have you not seen junior masterchef? kids apparently can cook better than most adults.

  4. genevieve November 23, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    wine hath made me fat. I advise mineral water and elderflower cordial. It’s expensive and it makes you feel spoilt, if not sozzled.

  5. franzy November 24, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    I think denial of one pleasure has to lead to another tangible pleasure, or else you just get all unhappy and start spreading the bad vibes around.

    I stopped drinking on homework nights because I found myself slumped snoozily over the computer at about 8:40pm, dreaming of just one little tumbler of honey-soaked bourbon. This, in turn, made me grumpy that I wasn’t doing homework and getting things done. So: no beer on homework nights = happy family because I’m not mooning around thinking ‘Yeah, this is magical but my life’s work is slipping away’.

    Or maybe one of the things that enables wine-drinking is also blogging about how awesome it is and how much you misses it.

Comments are closed.

