Thunder bolts and snow

10 Nov

I got out of bed twice to adjust the curtains, thinking that the flashes of light into the bedroom must be coming from the roof of the Al Wahda building. The building is two or three kilometres from here and this flashing has never happened before, but it is an enormous building, its towers now being finished one by one and its apartments helping to ease the city’s accommodation shortage. Who knows what light show they might one night start projecting into our bedroom.

‘What is that?’ I said to the mister after the fourth flash. He hadn’t noticed.

A thunderclap clapped, loud and close.

‘It was lightning.’

A dog started to bark, something started to hit against our bedroom window. I got out of bed and held the curtain a little way back. It was rain. Hitting our window and falling onto our lawn.

As the rain and the temperature fall (only thirty degrees forecast for today), life in Abu Dhabi becomes much simpler. Sitting in the playground after school or in our courtyard after tea, the breeze weaves the evocative magic that all breezes weave. I made a descriptive list once of all of my happiest memories, and you know, the greater percentage of those descriptions included a breeze.

It had rained the night before, 120 kilometres down the road in Dubai. I heard about it on facebook and rang the mister who was staying the night in his apartment there to avoid a mid-week commute.

‘Is it raining?’ I asked him. ‘I heard it’s raining.’

‘I don’t know,’ he said. ‘I’m in the Mall of the Emirates. All I can see is snow.’

DSC01162
Lads at Ski Dubai, Mall of the Emirates

5 Responses to “Thunder bolts and snow”

  1. meli November 10, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    that’s crazy. all i can see is snow too. and my bedroom refused to heat up beyond 12 degrees last night…

    • ThirdCat November 10, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      It is indeed crazy. And Ski Dubai comes complete with faux fireplaces in the apres ski cafe – where you really do need to warm up with soup and so forth because it’s freezing inside the snow park. And then, you go back outside to the desert.

  2. jennywynter November 12, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    Heya! Long time no chat. Just wanted to say a huge thanks for your lovely words, that really made my heart shine. It’s a funny thing this creative biz – sometimes I just love the uncertainty of it all and sometimes it just feels like I’m nuts for trying to conquer it. But anyway, thanks for the encouragement, I know you get it!!

    Wow, I can’t believe you’re living abroad! How exciting! I totally connect to the homesickness part – it’s a weird thing cos when we were in Canada I would pine so severely for Australia, yet now we’re back (2 years later), I find myself dreaming about Canada. Human nature I suppose!

    x

  3. ampersand duck November 15, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    That’s the most surreal thing. No wonder we’re getting climate change — can you imagine the emissions from that building?

    I’ll never forget the weirdness of going ice-skating in Houston, Texas when I was 12. I thought the Americans were crazy, and I still do. But it looks like they’re not alone!

  4. Eva November 16, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Hi there- I found you through Rae, at journey mama, and I’m parochial enough to love a fellow Aussie blogger. Mind you, I’ve just read a whole clump of your posts, the entire time misreading ‘mister’ as ‘minister’ (I have absolutely no explanation as to how I did that) and so will always have a kind of pavlovian belief that you’re married to a priest.
    Eva

Comments are closed.

