Resolve

4 Oct

On my way to book group a few weeks ago, I walked through a gate and found myself in front of a villa which housed two canary yellow sports cars. I beat a hasty retreat, realising that this was not the villa of my friend and walked in the gate next door.

‘You’ll never believe,’ I said to my friend. ‘They’ve got matching Ferraris!’

She laughed and said, as if this were some kind of failing, ‘You really don’t know your cars, do you? One’s a Ferrari and one’s a Porsche.’

I know a sports car from a four wheel drive, but just as I left New Zealand not knowing my league from my union, so shall I leave the Middle East unable to distinguish between a Ferrari and a Porsche.

5 Responses to “Resolve”

  1. Deborah October 4, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    I would be proud of that if I were you. Both union vs league, and Ferrari vs Porsche. I understand the former distinction (that would be the effect of growing up in NZ), but not the latter.

  2. blackbird October 4, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Silly. The Porsche gets much better gas mileage.

  3. franzy October 5, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    Photo?

    • ThirdCat October 5, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      yeah, see, having accidentally walked into the house of someone with a lot more wasta than I have, I was not going to hang around taking photos

  4. Mindy October 6, 2010 at 5:36 am #

    Spotto! Is what my son yells loudly in my ear whenever he sees a yellow car. He would be very excited at seeing two yellow cars. Then a fight between him and his sister would start as to who yelled spotto first for which car.

Comments are closed.

