If only my subconscious would apply itself more productively

28 Sep

I was surprised to find my brain asking of itself, this 2010 morning, ‘Who shot JR?’, but shocked to find it answered quite uncertainly, ‘Was it Kristin?’

For a few years when it was started, I was still young enough that I was supposed to be in bed when Dallas was on, so I had to watch it through the crack of my bedroom door being careful not to shift my weight on the creaking floorboard or, without a word, my mother would push the loungeroom door closed just to the point that I could no longer see the television. In such cases, I would go back to bed, my radio under my pillow because, for some reason I never understood, our local television station, GTS BKN could also be heard on the radio.

Now of course, I can watch Dallas any old time.

3 Responses to “If only my subconscious would apply itself more productively”

  1. Kate September 29, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I used to do this with the Late Show. My bedroom door had no doorhandle (my parents built our house. Very slowly) and the TV was opposite. I can still go from standing to prone in bed, pretending to sleep, in under 10 seconds. Life skills, people. Life skills.

    • kate September 29, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

      I used to watch the Late Show, but because I am a couple of years older my Mum used to let us stay up while she went to bed. We had the sound turned down very low and we had to laugh on the inside.

      When I was younger we lived in a house where, if we sat half way up the ladder to my brother’s attic bedroom, we could watch next door’s telly. Of course, there was no volume, so this was of limited benefit.

  2. mummycrit October 1, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    The thing about the tv on the radio though – I used to listen to ABC tv on the FM band a lot right up until the early/mid 90s.

Comments are closed.

