And to think, I used to be a librarian

8 Sep

Now, we’ve just spent a few months living on the favours of others, and so perhaps I am more sensitive to this than I need to be, but my children do seem to be extraordinarily noisy. Staying in and visiting other people’s houses and spaces means I’ve spent a lot of time on edge, trying to make sure we’ll be invited back and/or not evicted on account of their exuberance.

Why the school opened this week I will never know, given that the end of Ramadan and thus, the Eid holiday is now upon us, which means another five days of me and them, but this time with the added bonus of heat. And me, once again noticing that my children do seem to be extraordinarily noisy.

3 Responses to “And to think, I used to be a librarian”

  1. miriam September 8, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    don’t worry, they’re just exuberant, chatty, charming young lads who love life! (perhaps for you a pair of earplugs is in order, though… i’m sure there’s some occ health & safety regulation regarding prolonged exposure to many decibels 😉 )

  2. isabelle September 9, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    They’re very cute, though.

    I like that quote about happiness. Given that I’m not currently very happy, I’ve been thinking recently about when I was most happy. Immediately after giving birth for the first time, probably. That was quite a while ago. 31 years tomorrow, in fact. Maybe it’s time to cheer up again.

  3. Mindy September 9, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    I always think the same about my kids, but when I actually apologise for them being so noisy I get told that they aren’t. I have done the same for other mums and been absolutely honest in saying it. I think our concerns make us more likely to notice every little thing and amplify it. I put myself in my room the other day just to get away from my two. But then when I was sick and sleeping on the lounge they crept around almost as quiet as mouses and let me sleep until an SMS from an absent hubby signalled it was time to drag myself up and get them to school and daycare.

Comments are closed.

