From my window I no longer see cranes

8 Sep

Tied like that, the curtains remind me of the even ponytails I never quite had, because I was the only girl at school whose mother never did her hair.

5 Responses to “From my window I no longer see cranes”

  1. Cristy September 8, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

    Oh me too! In fact, instead of a pony tail I often had a bird’s nest of matted hair.

    Still rarely brush it. Really should cut it short.

  2. Deborah September 8, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    I’m shaping up to be the mother who never does her girls’ hair, but mostly because they are getting very insistent about doing it themselves. It’s taking a lot of restraint on my part to let them go off to school looking like something the cat dragged in. I can feel the Burnside mums looking at me in that special way.

  3. fifi September 8, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    hahah, I too had the birdsnest. In fact, I still do.

    (One time the birdnest became SO big My hair needed shearing from waist-length to ear-length.

  4. The Coffee Lady September 8, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    There are several reasons for not doing a child’s hair.

    For example:

    You’re crap at it.

    The child won’t keep it’s damn head still.

    Both of those apply to me.

  5. meli September 8, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    i never had an even pony tail either. the wrong kind of hair. the kind of hair which, incidentally, behaves itself much better when you don’t brush it at all, a fact i did not discover til i was 19.

    last time it got a little bit long i had it in a pony tail but m said a sheep’s tail would be a more accurate description…

Comments are closed.

