Anyone got a cunning plan on how one can organise to live in Spain for the rest of oneś life? One could, as one has always suspected, be very happy here

17 Jun

Even if I had brushed up on my Spanish before we came – my, one can forget a lot in ten years but also, they speak much more slowly in Guatemala I can tell you – but even if I had, I would not have thought to learn to say, I need something for my little boy, he is constipated.

Still, we went to the Palacio Real today, and they liked the armoury very much indeed. Quite shocked at the armour for los ninos, though.

Yes, I said, and thatś why I say guns are not toys and they said, You already told us that Mum.

Some of the walls in that palace are lined in silk. Lads fail to see significance. Also Stradivarius violins. But they liked the lions guarding the stairs.

It rained yesterday. Thunder too. We got soaked. The hotel staff apologised, but I said, Oh, it makes me feel alive.

Happy, happy days.

PS Dear Australian dollar: you can stop falling now. Please.

11 Responses to “Anyone got a cunning plan on how one can organise to live in Spain for the rest of oneś life? One could, as one has always suspected, be very happy here”

  1. planetnomad June 18, 2009 at 1:26 am #

    Ah…enjoy it! Sounds lovely. I love rain too, and I esp loved it when we were living in our own desert country.

  2. kate June 18, 2009 at 3:05 am #

    My cousin lives in Madrid, she works for a bicycle tour place and is shacked up with a Spanish bloke, they don’t show any signs of coming back so that’s probably the answer on “how to live in Spain forever”, although the Mister and children may object to you going to live in Edinburgh sharehouses with a view to meeting a Spaniard.

    Glad you’re having fun, it always surprises me on holidays how much I needed a holiday and I wonder why I’d put it off and swear not to be so stupid in future.

  3. Mindy June 18, 2009 at 3:23 am #

    Spain is on my list of places I must visit one day. I rather like the English idea of retiring to Spain too.

  4. Kath Lockett June 18, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    Ooooh lucky ducks – haven’t been there since backpacking in 92….

  5. Pen June 18, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

    When the Noodle was in hospital in Spain we considered declaring ourselves refugees and offering to sweep the floors, since we had no other skills of use to Spanish people. Actually, I’m not very good at sweeping either, but my Spanish was too poor to tell them that…

  6. suse June 18, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    Can I just say it’s so wonderful to see you blogging from Spain! It thrills me. I loved Madrid when I was there. Barcelona even MORE!

    Have fun!

  7. mikhela June 18, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    My mum says brown sugar and warm water for constipation. Apparently the sugar draws the water into the bowel – that’s her medical theory. Her last remedy worked, so do with that what you will.

    I particularly like the little accents over your s’s in this post. Very Espagnole.

  8. Alby Mangroves June 18, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    Does not the rain in Spain stay mainly in the plain? Si si, I like.

  9. fifi June 19, 2009 at 4:03 am #

    oh, how absolutely wonderful!
    So glad to hear of such happiness.

    Try and get hold of some kiwi fruit.

    I love spain too, but have not been there for such a loooong time.

  10. elsewhere June 19, 2009 at 4:35 am #

    Oranges? For the constipation…

  11. Hendo June 25, 2009 at 7:03 am #

    Corn and pears for your kiddo.

    Also, don’t complain too much about the dollar – I’m living in a country on the US dollar, and when I got here in November last year the Aussie dollar was hovering around 62 USc… so I think high 70s / low 80s is FABULOUS!

Comments are closed.

