And that’s under the verandah

28 May

The mister has been in Al Ain this week. It’s an oasis town in Abu Dhabi state, less than a two hour drive from here. We were having a quick chat about things before he raced off for another night on the piss networking and I mentioned that one of the mothers at school had mentioned that her car computer read the outside temperature at fifty degrees today.

‘That can’t be right, can it?’ I said in a ‘and-who-would-want-to-spend-their-money-on-a-luxury-European-car-anyway-cos-who-can-really-tell-the-difference-between-one-car-and-the-next-and-look-at-that-their-computer-doesn’t-even-work-properly’ kind of way.

‘Well,’ he said in a ‘don’t-forget-you-can-take-the-lad-out-of-the-country-but-you-can’t-take-the-country-out-of-the-lad-and-I-know-a-lot-about-the-difference-between-cars’ kind of way, ‘…it was fifty two degrees today at Al Ain.’

Significant pause.

‘And yesterday, it was fifty six.’

Two weeks until school holidays start. Two weeks and three days until the boys and I are on a plane.

UPDATED TO ADD: I dunno, I’m still a bit sceptical…fifty six sounds like some kind of world record and my quick googling can’t find an official site that gives retrospective information. Anyway, the forecast today is for forty five, gradually sliding down to be thirty eight by Monday.

13 Responses to “And that’s under the verandah”

  1. ampersand duck May 29, 2009 at 2:02 am #

    I honestly don’t know how you’re doing it. I can never understand the general concept of Heaven (too much lolling around, I’d be utterly bored) but I reckon they got the idea of Hell right.

    Anyhoo, good luck with the script 🙂

  2. Cristy May 29, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    56!

    Argh. That’s unfathomable. Is that a word?

  3. ampersand duck May 29, 2009 at 2:43 am #

    Yes, it is — and I’m liking a word used to describe unthinkably deep water to describe unspeakably dense heat 🙂

  4. tut-tut May 29, 2009 at 3:32 am #

    bet you’re champing at the bit.

  5. blackbird May 29, 2009 at 4:34 am #

    This wrenches my head.

  6. Melody May 29, 2009 at 7:22 am #

    Apparently it was 52 here in Ab Dabs yesterday, but as you know, the government stops recording the temps after 49 degrees – I mean, we don’t want our workers to stop working now do we?

  7. mary May 29, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    Who knew that there could be a hotter place than Adelaide??!!

  8. Mikhela May 29, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

    Are you sure the Mister wasn’t using a you-may-think-I’m-lolling-about-here-in-this-beautiful-oasis-town-but it’s-even-WORSE-here kind of tone?

  9. elsewhere May 30, 2009 at 6:34 am #

    I think you’ve secretly moved there to get in training for a stint in Al Alice…it won’t seem so hot here after that.

  10. mj May 30, 2009 at 10:53 am #

    http://members.iinet.net.au/~jacob/worldtp.html

    as for the school holidays, i can’t wait to read about them!

  11. Emalie May 30, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    I lived in northwest Australia for three years, south of Broome with it’s humidity and proper rain but north of the mid section with the tourist moniker of “the Cooler Coast.” I know about camping in 46 degrees, and getting home, spacey, aching, shaking and nauseous after being out on a 49 degree day. I saw a friend faint with heatstroke in the middle of a funeral and i know, with such certainty now, that if it’s too hot it’s simply too hot. Those maverick competitions about *how many degrees* anyone endured anywhere always seem to head off rabidly in pointless directions… Just take care through those harsh days, i know how exhausting it is!

  12. SQ May 30, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    I know how much you love the heat. How are you coping?

    • ThirdCat May 30, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

      I think if anything I love it even more than I used to and am, as I’m sure you can imagine very even-keeled and have not chucked the shits even once in the last week.

Comments are closed.

