Sometime after 5 pm

18 May
From from my window

This is what I will miss when we leave this apartment. This view from our kitchen at this time of the day. I have taken many photos wanting to show you, but none of them quite work. Perhaps because I’m trying to take a photo of a moment, but perhaps because the clouds and the smog and the dust do strange things to the light. It’s hard to photograph the sun.

At this moment, it is late afternoon, I am getting (fixing as my American-schooled boys now say) tea, my boys are running in and out, helping sometimes and sometimes not, asking constantly, What time is Dad getting home, Will he have time to take us to the corner for soccer?

When the window is open, the call to prayer floats in. When the window is closed I will hear it, but faintly, and very often youngest boy will say, Can we open the window so we can hear the call to prayer?

I have been trying to write a post which explains exactly why I will miss this moment. Why it makes me think of other beats in other days where I felt just this way. Other beats which are so often prompted by a breeze, or the light of the sun. The autumn light on the parklands as I walked home from my first real job. A summer evening breeze through the open front door of our Parkside place. Winter sunsets over the tops of eucalypts when we lived in Blackwood. The greying light on Rangitoto from our bedroom window in Meadowbank as clouds covered the sun.

But just like the perfect photograph, the perfect words won’t come.

And the imperfect ones? Sometimes imperfect one are okay, but other times they are nothing more than naff.

From from my window
5 Responses to “Sometime after 5 pm”

  1. Mindy May 19, 2009 at 4:29 am #

    Sometimes I tell myself that I can’t explain something like this because really I don’t want to share. Or in the case of the 6yo have him go “hmph, can I have a …” kinda ruins the moment. But anyway I hope that there are moments like these in your new place too.

  2. franzy May 19, 2009 at 5:58 am #

    I think they’re moments when you can look upon yourself and feel pleased.
    They’re something you would get as much pleasure seeing someone else experience as you do experiencing them yourself.

    Seeing the last ray of sun hit the grapevines from up the lane at Mum and Dad’s and pretending I’m sinking in a cool green ocean.

  3. blackbird May 19, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Even naff is fascinating.
    I’d love to hear the call to prayer.

    Oh, and, in Tuvalu, we *make* a cup of tea.

  4. Alby Mangroves May 20, 2009 at 5:36 am #

    .. but in an Aussie household, ‘getting tea’ is actually making dinner. Or were you actually getting a cup of tea Tracey? I’m thinking dinner because it’s after 5pm. I like that your boys like the sound of the call to prayer, even though it’s a different religion. They can obviously appreciate the beauty of the singing, which is lovely. And Finally… I like the photo, it takes me to this exotic place, with the dust and the smog and the call to prayer echoing in the street.

  5. fifi May 20, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    Love it. I sent my 25th birthday sleeping on a rooftop directly below the Agia Sofia in Istanbul.
    There were many prayers by many muezzins, at all hours. I still remember.

    I think that hour is the hour of Nostalgia…in the cycle of one day, it’s middle age…..

    And how excitement about Edinburgh, hey?
    Wish I could watch….

Comments are closed.

