Oh

13 May

Today, I was listening to the BBC World Service and I heard someone say something along the lines of “coming up, the controversy over drug testing in Third World countries”.

I thought they were talking about drugs in sport or drugs in the workplace. But no, they were talking about drug testing on children (here’s a link, sorry I couldn’t find a more recent report). Which made me feel quite despondent for the world.

5 Responses to “Oh”

  1. edj May 13, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    Yikes! I had no idea.

    Did you see/read “The Constant Gardener?” It dealt with this issue too. Except it was a novel/movie. Not the BBC.

  2. franzy May 14, 2009 at 4:19 am #

    Excellent post title.

  3. mikhela May 16, 2009 at 3:47 am #

    I knew this somewhere – as in, the information is not unfamiliar – but had conveniently forgotten about it. How depressing – another thing to add to my long list of world issues I *should* be doing something about.

  4. faithh May 16, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    Now that you’ve brought this up I do remember seeing a doco on it once a while ago. Supremely depressing. Also, that we live the sorts of lives where it gets forgotten. And being a ‘soccer mum’ seems like a bad-time!

  5. cdv1971 May 17, 2009 at 4:53 am #

    That’s shocking! And kind of strips some of my faith about the inherent goodness of human nature.

Comments are closed.

