Still not really doing much except faffing about on the interwebs

21 Apr

So, I’m up to the part where Catherine and Linton start exchanging letters, and I really couldn’t be bothered reading the rest. Why is this so? I have read this book countless times before and it has never let me down (or I have never let it down). Is it wrong if I don’t finish it? And if I don’t finish it, do I still put it in the reading journal that I started this year?

Such are the preoccupations of my life.

I have been reading lots of online newspapers, and there is a beautiful piece by Joe Saxton in the Times Online about his friend, Nick Hughes, the son of Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath. Amongst other things, Joe Saxton says of Nick Hughes:

“And he was also a very attractive man. I remember him telling me about his uncertainty as to whether women (or “females” as he called them – always the biologist!) in Alaska were interested in him or in sleeping with Sylvia Plath’s son – or, worse still, in having her grandchildren.”

My goodness, that’s full-on, isn’t it?

Yesterday, I read this piece in The Age about Henrie Stride, a talent scout at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival looking for talent for a new show on SBS. Amongst other things, she is quoted as saying:

“A lot of women’s comedy is angry and quite hard, bitter, man-hating, lesbiany. Not very many female comedians are commercial — but she is really pretty and her comedy is upbeat; she has potential,” Stride says.

While it doesn’t make me want to go and stick my head in the oven, it’s pretty fucking depressing all the same.

9 Responses to “Still not really doing much except faffing about on the interwebs”

  1. franzy April 21, 2009 at 10:54 am #

    So in the same blog you’re musing about Sylvia Plath and the plight of hard, bitter, angry woman comedy and yet you still manage to finish with the straight-faced, self-referential flourish: “it doesn’t make me want to go and stick my head in the oven”.
    Bravo. Bravo, indeed.

    • ThirdCat April 21, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

      “self-referential”…well, of course, it’s a blog!

  2. Pavlov's Cat April 21, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    Well it makes me want to go and stick my head in the oven. Serves me right for getting it up out of the primeval pre-feminist slime, I suppose.

  3. Pen April 21, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

    Makes me want to stick someone else’s head in an oven.

  4. ThirdCat April 21, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    ha! that’s funny!
    not that I condone violence, she adds quickly.

  5. Kath Lockett April 21, 2009 at 6:28 pm #

    I read that article on the weekend too and had a similar reaction: “Oh because she looks good, she’s automatically a contender and being funny is an added bonus.” Just like every other frigging TV or radio show….*sigh*….

  6. Helen April 21, 2009 at 11:52 pm #

    One of my pet hates is men who call women “females”. I thought it was mainly an Australian thing. Makes us sound like wildlife.

    • ThirdCat April 22, 2009 at 7:39 am #

      a place where I used to do some comedy, I would always get introduced as a ‘female comic’…I think they knew not to call me a ‘lady’, but ‘woman’ was just too challenging. Oh, and to not qualify the ‘comic’ at all? Impossible.

  7. outlandinstitute April 25, 2009 at 5:22 am #

    And another thing – who the hell is she thinking of when she talks about bitter man-hating comedians? It sounds like she hasn’t seen any comedy since about 1988. I think you took it better than I did, Adelaide, I seriously wanted to punch her in the face (don’t do that kids, it’s wrong) – I wrote a piece about it on my blog, too.

    And Helen, I totally agree about the word “female” when used as a noun, not an adjective – it’s weird how so many people can’t say “woman”. I get the feeling they want to say “girl” and know they shouldn’t, and for some reason they think “woman” is bad, so they end up bizarrely at “female”…

Comments are closed.

