It’s going to be a loooong adolescence

21 Apr

‘Nobody understands me. Nobody. Nobody understands how it is to be me.’

He is prone across his bed, words muffled by his pillow but audible nonetheless, his fingers in his ears. He is six years old.

10 Responses to “It’s going to be a loooong adolescence”

  1. blackbird April 22, 2009 at 3:51 am #

    On the bright side, it’s nice to have a warning.

  2. franzy April 22, 2009 at 4:56 am #

    You know what he needs?
    A dirt bike.

    I am gonna be an awesome dad.

  3. Pavlov's Cat April 22, 2009 at 5:12 am #

    Oh the poor child. Fancy working that out this early in life.

  4. Mindy April 22, 2009 at 5:57 am #

    He’s going to find it awfully hot wearing all black in Abu Dhabi, poor kid.

  5. kazari April 22, 2009 at 6:28 am #

    I find the best response is to lie on the floor, kick your heels and yell “nobody understands what it’s like to be me, EITHER!”

    If nothing else, it’s great stress relief, and the look of disbelief on the kids faces is priceless.

  6. Ariel April 22, 2009 at 7:33 am #

    Commiserations. Mine has started worrying teenager-like behaviour and pronouncements, too. It’s too early!

    I like kazari’s suggestion, might try it myself …

  7. ThirdCat April 22, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    except I’m worried that’s where he learnt it from in the first place

  8. Kath Lockett April 23, 2009 at 8:21 am #

    …..it sounds like he’s going to grow up to be a writer.

    And you’re tagged – http://blurbfromtheburbs.blogspot.com/2009/04/mummy-meme-from-what-i-can-gather-it.html

  9. Mummy Crit April 23, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    Yep. They’re starting it earlier these days. We get a lot of “why is my life so unfair?” or “since when am I the servant?”. He’s 8.

  10. dr April 23, 2009 at 10:52 pm #

    Oh, that’s too painfully familiar for words. Squiss is five and a half and right there with him.

    Scotch, anyone?

Comments are closed.

