Books in my life

19 Apr

This past week, I have finished reading two books. Jonathan Franzen The Discomfort Zone: A Personal History and Blake Morrison And When Did You Last See Your Father.

I would recommend both of them, but not at the same time for one of them is warm and questioning, while the other is cold and judgmental. Or perhaps that’s just the impression you get when you read them at the same time and are never quite sure, as you reach for the book for a late-night read, which one it is that you have.

And now, I am back to Wuthering Heights which, for some reason, is taking me a loooong time to read when generally I read it in a few days flat.

6 Responses to “Books in my life”

  1. Kath Lockett April 19, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    I’m reading ‘Slaughterhouse Five’ by Karl Vonnegut, for the first time ever. I saw it at the education dept stationery depot when buying Sapphire’s stuff earlier this year.

    So far, it’s reading like a condensed Catch 22, which isn’t a bad thing necessarily.

  2. Helen April 19, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Oh, this is a coincidence in a way, as I’m just rereading Franzen’s The Corrections. Haven’t read Discomfort Zone. And I took out the DVD of Last Saw your Father just the other day – didn’t realise it was based on a novel. Would you say it’s Franzen who’s cold and judgemental, or Morrison? The father character in the Corrections is very nuanced, while the younger characters so far are pretty much dickheads, as is the Mom. Yes pretty judgemental I think, except for the Dad.

  3. ThirdCat April 19, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    They are both memoir/life writing – the Franzen seems – to my mind – so unforgiving of his parents, while Morrison seems to be examining his father’s flaws much more generously. But I think I need to read them again, only separately this time.

  4. genevieve April 20, 2009 at 2:28 am #

    Heard Franzen replayed on Margaret Throsby’s talk show earlier this week. Man, he kept her on her toes.
    Must read WH again too.

  5. Deborah April 20, 2009 at 2:29 am #

    I’ve just picked up Livy, which I’ve always meant to read, but have never gotten around to. At present I’m reading the exciting account of Romulous and Remus founding Rome.

    Wuthering Heights… meh. I reread it two or three years ago, and found it very dreary. I could see all its merits, but eventually I thought that it just wasn’t worth spending all that time reading about depressing people in a depressing landscape.

  6. Alby Mangroves April 20, 2009 at 5:37 am #

    I love that you have favourites that you can ‘breeze through’ when you need to experience them again. Mine is Ancient Evenings, by Norman Mailer. I have to be in a particular mood to read it. The last time I tried, I was pregnant, and I believe I read thorugh the first two chapters without retaining any of it. I put it aside to read later – that was 4.5 years ago. I’m still not in the right frame of mind!

Comments are closed.

