Once upon a time, I had just turned twenty three

16 Feb

Yesterday, the mister and I celebrated seventeen years of marriage (let’s say that you can define ‘celebrate’ as went to Al Wahda Mall, had Thai Express then went to Magrudy’s to buy one book by Garrison Keillor and yet another big.fat.densely.typed book on the history of communism which will fall on your face and hurt your nose as you struggle through it each night).

‘You know,’ I said to the mister after he had returned from his late night trip to collect his washed and ironed shirts from the laundromat and a few sweet treats from the Lebanese sweetshop across the road, ‘if our marriage were a child it would be doing year 12 this year.’

The mister was turning his laptop on as he had important work on spreadsheets to be done and, as it clunked into action, he asked, ‘Green tea or peppermint?’

13 Responses to “Once upon a time, I had just turned twenty three”

  1. penguinunearthed February 16, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    Snap! (or almost) – we had our 17th anniversary in December. I didn’t feel particularly young at the time… but now I find it hard to imagine I got married that young.

  2. ThirdCat February 16, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    That’s a cool snap! No, I didn’t feel at all young either, but I look at the photos and think ‘oh, my goodness’. And my mum was just 21 when she had me. I look at those photos and it makes my head spin.

  3. Kath Lockett February 16, 2009 at 9:37 am #

    14 years for us on the 5th of Feb. Twenty six years old wearing bad make up, a dodgy perm and sillier hat. The idea of revisiting those photos makes my skin crawl.

    This weekend however, we ‘celebrated’ Valentine’s Day by Love Chunks picking out the lice and eggs from my hair. *That’s* love for you.

  4. ThirdCat February 16, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    My hat totally rocked it out. And so did my mum’s. And, thankfully, I had stopped perming my hair by then – I was always trying for the Annie Lennox look.

  5. Deborah February 16, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    Congratulations! Not quite so snappy for us – we’ve just gone past 19 years of wedded bliss. I didn’t feel young either – I had just turned 24. The age I gave for our wedding certificate was 23, but I filled the details out 10 days before the wedding, and my birthday intevened. So in future years, some historian will review our wedding records, and count me as ‘illiterate’ given that I made a mistake… Whatever – it still looks fearfully young to me, now.

  6. ThirdCat February 16, 2009 at 11:11 am #

    See, now you’ve got me double-checking, was I 23 or 24…

  7. suse February 16, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    Happy anniversary! 19 years for us this year.

    Forgot to tell you, Melbourne beat Adelaide 4-0 and the coach of Adelaide (while still in Melbourne) called Adelaide a ‘pissant town’, in which there was a conspiracy that ‘everyone is in on’. Then he had to go home to Adelaide and apologise.

    Talkback radio here today has been quite lively, as you can imagine.

  8. blackbird February 16, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    Ah, romance.
    26 for us.
    No hat, thank god.

  9. ThirdCat February 17, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    I love hats! I’d take any chance to wear a hat. Which, with skin like this, is every day.

  10. Mummy Crit February 18, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    Wow. I was 24 the first time (and it would be 16 years this year, but thankfully it’s not) and 38 the second. First year coming up in May.

  11. Stomper Girl February 19, 2009 at 5:26 am #

    Wow, happy anniversary. Soom your marriage will be going off to University.

    (Fifteen looming for us, if we make it through our double 7 year itch first)

  12. Helen February 19, 2009 at 10:58 pm #

    Snap – Girlchild is 17. And does anyone have any tips on how to make a teenage girl like wearing hats?

  13. Leesa February 25, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    Hey Ms Crisp
    Our day ends with similar conversations here “like peppermint or blackcurrant?”.

    Congrats on the anniversary.

    Hope you are all enjoying it. Will miss you at SSCS GC ‘s.

    Leesa

Comments are closed.

