Bushfires at home

10 Feb

In a sea of incomrehensibility, perhaps the most incomprehensible thing is that newspapers and the ABC are reporting that many of the fires may have been deliberately lit.

Even at this distance, it’s hard to know what to do with yourself. It seems wrong to go about your own simple life (which only last week looked a bit more complex) when other people are living…well, I don’t know…I can’t even begin to understand what today will be like for them. An online donation doesn’t feel like much of a contribution.

Whatever else I do today, I will be thinking of the people – adults and children – living through this right now, and also of the people who are reliving past experiences.

8 Responses to “Bushfires at home”

  1. miriam February 10, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    “even at this distance”? i think it’s actually harder to make sense of things and to know what to do when you’re far away. not that being closer to it has helped me understand any of it, i have to say…

    everything just gets shaken into perspective, doesn’t it?

    p.s. incomPrehensibility, i think πŸ˜‰

  2. Pen February 11, 2009 at 2:22 am #

    Yes, it’s hard to not grind to a dumbstruck halt. And keep wishing futilely that there was something useful to do.

  3. Mikhela February 11, 2009 at 3:51 am #

    I don’t think that it’s incomprehensible that the fires were deliberately lit (obviously I’m more pessimistic about human nature). And a large proportion of arsonists are actually firefighters. I think it’s a bit like graffiti (on a larger scale) – people who feel insignificant are drawn by the idea of having a big impact. Not that they could have imagined how big the fire could get.

    anyhoo I’m procrastinating. Back to work!

  4. fifi February 11, 2009 at 9:50 am #

    It certainly makes ones problems seem insignificant in the face of the huge losses of others.

    My daughter is having an “I hate my life ” week.
    I keep to explain that at least she has one.
    And a house.
    And unbarbecued pets.

  5. Alby Mangroves February 13, 2009 at 6:14 am #

    We all get complaiscent about our lives. I know that I’ve kissed and hugged my kids more often since Saturday than I have in the last six months. And I kiss and hug the little beggars a lot, so that’s saying something. They’re quite sick of it and are starting to rebel and flail around to be released. I don’t even care.

  6. ampersandduck February 14, 2009 at 2:34 am #

    And as Laura pointed out, a financial contribution are probably the most useful thing any of us can do right now…

  7. ampersandduck February 14, 2009 at 2:34 am #

    GAH

    *is* probably

  8. another outspoken female February 15, 2009 at 9:37 am #

    thanks for your comment today πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

