You don’t get this in Adelaide

29 Jan

The view from our window changes all the time.

Last weekend it rained:

From Drop Box

This morning it was foggy:

From Drop Box

This afternoon, I watched the workings of this crane:

From Drop Box

No wonder we spend so much looking out at it:

From Drop Box

….
Still to come in Adelaide from Adelaide in Abu Dhabi:
What youngest boy really thought about all those people tweaking his cheeks.

PS Today the proofs of the cover for my novel came through. Oh, my. I’m about to have a published novel.

13 Responses to “You don’t get this in Adelaide”

  1. fifi January 30, 2009 at 2:28 am #

    when can I get one? I am about to throw up with excitement!!!

  2. maggie January 30, 2009 at 2:38 am #

    how thrilling!!! that is my dream šŸ™‚ i’m working on my second novel right now, half way through. what is your novel titled?

  3. franzy January 30, 2009 at 4:46 am #

    Yeah yeah yeah windows.

    If it were possible to type wordpress comments in massive green letters in a font festooned with teeth and spikes , I would choose said font and type this (picture the jade green and spikes):
    Oh! A room to write in for six hours! Cover proofs! An impending novel!
    (upgrade font to have curly green finger nails of bile-soaked jealous) I am so happy for you.

    (normal font) But really – what an adventure.

  4. blackbird January 30, 2009 at 6:01 am #

    Oh my is right.
    I realize now, working in publishing, what effort it takes to have a novel, A NOVEL!, published.

    Bravo, well done, and all that.

    As for your view – I am envious.

  5. Kath Lockett January 30, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS, thirdcat! You MUST reveal more details on this ere blog, to us, your faithful readers (and novel buyers)

  6. meli January 30, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    I will get my grandparents to post me over a copy as soon as it’s out.

    What a view! The only construction that’s going on in my window is the magpies getting an early start on their nest.

  7. Pen January 30, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    Congratulations you hard working and impressive character.

  8. janet January 30, 2009 at 3:17 pm #

    How massively exciting! Big congratulations!

    And it will totally thrilling to go and buy a copy from the shops, read it, pass it round and later put it in the special bookcase we have for writers we know in some way!

  9. Hala January 30, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    I can relate to this easily šŸ™‚ wait till summer comes and see the changes…

  10. SQ January 31, 2009 at 6:15 am #

    Already working on my tactics for generating demand in bookshops across Adelaide.

  11. Stomper Girl January 31, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    Oh my. Can’t wait to read it.

  12. Zoe January 31, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    Iā€™m about to have a published novel.

    Well that’s presents for the girlfriends’ birthdays sorted for this year. I can’t wait until they see how good you are.

    As for me personally, knowing how subtle and intense your writing is I CANNOT WAIT.

    ps maybe when it comes out you can get the towels? Just to celebrate?

  13. m February 1, 2009 at 9:34 am #

    i think you should “leak” a chapter to us through your blog.

Comments are closed.

