Perspective

28 Jan

Eldest Boy has a bit of a lunchbox dilemma going on. He needs to upgrade, because the laptop lunchbox we’ve been using for the last few years just isn’t big enough anymore. He eats a lot that boy, although you wouldn’t know if you looked at his arms (I can still make my thumb and index finger touch when I wrap them around any point on his arm).

I spent yesterday with his class, so had an opportunity to observe the lunchboxes of others.

‘How about one like Oscar’s? I said of the small esky. ‘That would fit a lot in it.’

‘Yes, but it wouldn’t fit in my bag and then I’d have to carry it seperately.’

‘That’s true. How about one like Lucinda’s?’

‘Yes, but that’s only a bit bigger than this. After one day I’d get used to the extra amount then need a bigger one.’

‘That’s true.’

Silence, because it is only the morning, and my brain is not able to take the conversation any further.

‘Mum, this must be what it’s like to be President.’

‘What do you mean?’

‘Well, it’s so hard.’

4 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. Pen January 28, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    Do you reckon the President has worries about his daughters lunch boxes as well as all the other stuff he’s go going on? Or can he delegate that to an official US Government lunchbox worrier? Your son could get that job, and become a professional.

  2. Kath Lockett January 28, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    He’s got a point – you had your ‘towels moment’ and he’s got his lunch box dilemma.

  3. fifi January 29, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    it IS hard.

  4. miriam February 1, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    oscar and lucinda, eh 🙂

Comments are closed.

