It’s possible there’s a more bizarre thing being advertised on television, but I haven’t seen it

29 Jan

So, like, really, what’s up with that show they’re advertising on Channel 9: A Year with the Royal Family narrated by Cate Blanchett. Like, why is she doing that? I mean I’d do it. In a heartbeat. But she’s Cate Blanchett. And I, quite obviously, am not.

12 Responses to “It’s possible there’s a more bizarre thing being advertised on television, but I haven’t seen it”

  1. carly January 29, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    is it cos shes elizabeth in so many movies*?

    *quite poss only 2, i dont research these things

  2. blackbird January 29, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    Is it an old production – from before she was so successful?
    Could they have asked her to do it FOR ENGLAND?
    Might she have spied a new $4000 handbag she liked and worked for the weekend to have it?

    I have so many questions.

  3. carly January 30, 2008 at 6:41 am #

    if i had $4000, i certainly wouldnt be spending it on a handbag.

  4. ThirdCat January 30, 2008 at 8:28 am #

    It seems to be new, bb.
    I might buy a handbag for $4000 – it would depend what’s in the handbag.

  5. Ariel January 30, 2008 at 7:26 pm #

    I reckon it’s what Carly said … but yeah, I wouldn’t do it if I was her. Or even if I was Helen Mirren.

  6. carly January 31, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    oooh, i d like to be helen mirren. or, at least hang out with her for a while, i reckon she’d be cool

  7. Helen January 31, 2008 at 8:07 pm #

    Ha ha!
    Phil mistook her for a technician and asked her to plug some cable or other.
    Actually, that’s probably a watered-down version by Palace request.
    Teh stoopid!

  8. ThirdCat January 31, 2008 at 8:20 pm #

    oh no! was it on tonight? And there I was watching America’s Next Top Model. Obviously, I was so confused with the ads that I forgot to notice what time the shows were actually on.

    Did they talk about Diana?

  9. Mikhela February 1, 2008 at 8:35 pm #

    Missed top model this week – who got knocked out? My new favourite is the one with the gappy teeth now that the one with the luscious lips has gone.

    (I think it’s a sign of mental health and correct priorities that I can’t actually remember their names)

  10. ThirdCat February 2, 2008 at 2:04 pm #

    It was a double episode finale! You missed it! Jade got knocked out, then the one with the gappy teeth won. I only ever remembered Jade’s name. I never remember the names of contestants, and I feel the same way you do about it.

  11. elsewhere February 3, 2008 at 4:29 am #

    I was going to say, it’s because she’s in training to become Helen Mirren.

  12. lissame February 6, 2008 at 7:54 am #

    I had wondered that myself. I think perhaps blackbird is right…

Comments are closed.

