Evening meal

27 Apr

Having reached a significant milestone by working freaking hard at it for three full days – and one of them a public holiday – Adelaide opened a bottle of wine before she started the tea.

One glass later, she thought they might have pizza tonight.

She took another gulp of the red, then waved – not unkindly but without nostalgia – at the woman who had believed that every meal she fed her children should be a nutritionally balanced one.

4 Responses to “Evening meal”

  1. Pavlov's Cat April 27, 2006 at 12:54 pm #

    Oh come on, pizza is nutritionally balanced. The tomato! The cheese!

    I know a mother who swears that chips + sauce = two veg.

    Red wine is also very good for the health.

  2. ThirdCat April 27, 2006 at 1:30 pm #

    Not to mention the capsicum (antioxidants, whatever they might be), mushrooms (b12)…but you should have seen me four years ago. So bloody serious. I mixed blackstrap molasses in with the scrambled eggs to give my boy an iron boost (we’re semi-serious vegetarians). He refused to eat it, because – he said – eggs aren’t black.

    Others in this household agreed.

    Hey, cool word verification: xthbum

  3. hasarder April 27, 2006 at 11:38 pm #

    That’s classic. I know what you mean.

    You have a wonderful way of distilling big concepts into a few sentances. If I’d written about that, it would have taken me two pages, and even then I don’t know if I would have made the point as clear as you do.

  4. Kate April 28, 2006 at 1:34 am #

    Last night I ate Thai takeaway and drank wine and watched The Biggest Loser finale. Hmmn.

Comments are closed.

